The municipality of Sella Giudicarie was established on 1 January 2016 when the municipalities of Bondo, Breguzzo, Lardaro and Roncone were merged.
The village of Roncone is made up of clusters of houses with the exact urban layout of the old hamlets overlooking the Adanà river: protected by walls and scattered with piazzas with granite fountains, criss-crossed by cobbled streets, featuring passageways and houses with holy frescoes and beautiful doorways.
The stunning Lake Roncone is one of the best-known pre-Alpine lakes of Valle del Chiese, along with Lake Idro. As of 2017, the lake holds a Blue Flag from the FEE (Foundation for Environmental Education) thanks to the quality of its waters, sustainable tourism, waste management and the protection of natural environments.
In 1958, Roncone became the first village in Trentino to be connected to Malga Avalina and Malga Pozze by a long milk line (5,700 m). In addition to farming, woodworking and industry, tourism has also grown with accommodation and sporting facilities opening, thanks in part to the little lake below the settlement, originally formed by a flood barrier and recently developed. There are plenty of hotels, farmhouses, typical restaurants, and holiday homes and apartments.
Towards the top of the village looms the baroque parish church of S. Stefano (built 1624, expanded in 1654), with a bell tower and beautiful façade, recently restored. Inside is a carved wooden choir and organ, the stunning handiwork of local craftsman Gian Battista Polana. In the centre of the orchestra gallery David can be seen with his arm resting on his harp, and on the top of the wooden body that beautifully frames the pipes of the ancient organ are two musician-angels. Also worth admiring are the wooden altar of the Sacred Heart and the vault of the Holy Sacrament, the meticulous work of G.B. Polana, who also made a third wooden altar; the altar of the Pietà, meanwhile, dates from 1640.
The Assumption Altarpiece with SS. Stefano and Vigilio, framed in elegant marble, is from the 18th century. Decoration is by Matteo Tevini (1936). Finally, it is worth noting the portal accessed by a wide staircase erected in 1848.