Darè is part of the municipality of Porte di Rendena, established on 1 January 2016 by the merger of the municipalities of Villa Rendena, Darè and Vigo Rendena.
Darè in the 19th century was regarded as the typical Rendena rural village, with lean-to, slate-roofed stone houses and elegant portals adorned with noble coats of arms. These features have since been altered due to fires in the mid-20th century, although traces can be found in the oldest part of the village.
The original centre of the village of Darè is on the Sarca valley floor. There are proposals for urbanistic links with the nearby village of Vigo, with which the village already has parochial and religious connections. The Oratory of San Rocco was constructed during the plague year of 1579 and rebuilt in the nineteenth century. Some of the houses that were saved from the five fires that destroyed the village (the last one was in 1962) have typical Rendena architectural structures: large double-pitched roofs covered with “scàndole” tiles, wooden gables and superstructures and granite portals.
Points of interest
Casa CüsAn old rural home, acquired by the local council, has been restored after structural issues arose from weather damage, a serious fire in 1998, and other events over the years. The building was reconstructed using materials, architectural techniques, and room design from the period in which it was originally erected. The home is now a fascinating permanent exhibit dedicated to life and work of that time and features hundreds of items of clothing, furniture, photos and other objects based on research conducted by the exhibit’s curators and donations from private collectors.
18th-century fountain in Piazza RomaDating back to the 18th century, the fountain in Darè’s Piazza Roma is made from local granite and has been flowing continuously for centuries. It is a characteristic element of this small village, as are other fountains scattered throughout the Rendena valley.